Adding, removing, reordering, renaming, or hiding tools

Anyone can add, edit, remove, or reorder the tools in the menubar of his or her My Workspace. If you have a role with the necessary permissions, you can perform all of these actions for the menubar of a course, project, or portfolio site, or hide tools from users with restricted permissions.

To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.

To change tools in any type of site, including My Workspace, you can choose between the Edit Tools feature and the Page Order feature, depending on what you want to do:

On this page:


Using Edit Tools

  1. From your site's menubar, click Site Info.

    Alternatively, from the menubar in My Workspace, click Worksite Setup, check the box next to the site you wish to revise, and then click Edit.

    Note: Although you can check multiple boxes, you can only edit information about one site at a time.

    Note: To modify tools in My Workspace, you must check the box for My Workspace.

  2. Click Edit Tools.

  3. To add a tool, check the box next to the appropriate tool name; you can select more than one at a time.

    To remove a tool, uncheck the box next to the appropriate tool name.

  4. Click Continue.

  5. If you're adding any of the following tools, the Customize Tools screen will ask you to provide additional information. If you're not adding one of the tools below, skip to the next step. For the following tools, these tasks are possible:

    • Email Archive: Create or modify your site email address
    • News: Add or modify news feed titles and web addresses (URLs); titles will appear in your menubar
    • Web Content: Add or modify titles and web addresses (URLs); titles will appear in your menubar

    When you're finished, click Continue.

  6. On the confirmation screen, you will see a list of your site's tools and any changes you've made. If the list is accurate, click Finish. To edit your changes, click Back, or click Cancel to exit without saving your changes.

Your new tools will appear in the menubar. To change the order of the tools, use Page Order.

Using Page Order

  1. From your site's menubar, click Site Info.

    Alternatively, from the menubar in My Workspace, click Worksite Setup, check the box next to the site you wish to revise, and then click Edit.

    Note: Although you can check multiple boxes, you can only edit information about one site at a time.

    Note: To modify tools in My Workspace, you must check the box for My Workspace.

  2. At the top of the page, click Page Order.

  3. You can do the following:

    • To add a tool, at the top of the page, click Add page(s) to your site. Check the box for each tool you want to add, and then click Add selected tools.
    • To remove a tool, click the delete icon  
      Remove the following tool from the site
        .
    • To reorder tools, click and drag the different tools until they are in the order you want. (For example, you may want to move the most important tools to the top of the list so participants are more likely to find them.)
    • To edit the name of a tool, click the edit icon  
      Edit the following tool
       .
    • To hide a tool from normal users, click the light bulb  
      Hide the following tool from normal users
       .

  4. Click Save to save your changes.